Evi Heinen Named Finalist for Shooting Stars Award

Evi Heinen Named Finalist for Shooting Stars Award
Posted on 12/11/2018


OVERLAND PARK, KS – December 11, 2018 – The Arts Council of Johnson County (ACJC) announces 101 finalists have been nominated for the 2019 Shooting Stars Awards. The Shooting Stars Program promotes the positive impact arts education has on our students by honoring student achievement in the literary, performing and visual arts, providing students with resources to help them achieve their creative career goals, awarding scholarships for college and supporting teachers with honorariums.


Shooting Stars scholarship award recipients will be announced at the 22nd annual Shooting Stars Gala at the Nerman Museum of Contemporary Art and Yardley Hall, Johnson County Community College on Sunday, April 7, 2019.

“This special recognition program was created in 1997 by former ACJC chairman Bob Endres,” said Sarah VanLanduyt, ACJC Executive Director. “Bob’s vision was to create a program that celebrated young Johnson County artists for their artistic excellence in high school. Only the best of the best high school artists are chosen to participate in the Shooting Stars Program.”

Since its founding, the Shooting Stars program has awarded more than $400,000 in college scholarships and $65,000 in teacher honorariums. At the Shooting Stars Gala on April 7, 2019, nine first place scholarships of $1,400 each, nine second place scholarships of $700 each and nine teacher honorariums of $350 each will be awarded. The program is supported by Johnson County and area foundations, corporations and individual donors.

Students are nominated by their Arts teachers for this recognition. Arts teachers from schools throughout Johnson County are invited to nominate students each year. Students who live in Johnson County but attend school outside of the county also may be nominated by their Arts teachers.

To participate in Shooting Stars, students must meet these criteria:

> be in the 12th grade and will graduate in the spring;

> live in Johnson County, Kansas;

> be nominated by an Arts teacher from their high school, and submit an application.

Nominations were accepted from October 11 – 22, 2018 and applications from October 11 – 24, 2018.

After being selected as a finalist, the high school seniors will audition or submit a portfolio of work for review by independent judges in the following categories.

Literature (7 finalists)

Photography (12 finalists)

Production and Design (8 finalists)

Strings (6 finalists)

Theatre Performance (16 finalists)

Three-Dimensional Art (9 finalists)

Two-Dimensional Art (20 finalists)

Voice Classical (11 finalists), and

Winds and Percussion (12 finalists)

"We live in a very analytical world, but creativity needs to be embraced more than ever. We wouldn't have innovators like Elon Musk or the late Steve Jobs without heightened creativity. Embarking on a professional career in the arts requires a degree of boldness and Shooting Stars recognizes young artists for just that! Bold creativity!" said Brian Williams, President of the Arts Council of Johnson County Board of Directors.

“Many Shooting Stars Finalists excel in science, technology, engineering, arts and math,” added Sarah VanLanduyt, Arts Council of Johnson County Executive Director. “It’s not uncommon for them to major in both the visual or performing arts and pre-med, architecture or engineering."

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.